Memory lanes…………….

download“Ammammaaaaaaa ……………..Indu said.”

“Oh ammu…………my darling?…………how are you?Ammamma was elated.

“I am good,Ammamma,what about you?”

“What ails you dear child?”Amma could sense the tension and discord in her voice…..

“Ammamma where is Gauri chechi?………….”

The silence at the other end…………swelled her up from inside…….

“Ammu……ammamma said,Why do you want to know about her.”

“Ammamma ,was she forced into marriage?”

“No, Ammu………but……she was never told about the family.”

“Family?”

“Ok, did you like Vijayalakshmi’s son? ”

“Ammamma,please……………who on this earth is Vijayalakshmi and why should I like her son?and please tell me about Gauri chechi,I am going through a major emotional turmoil.Whenever I think of my childhood,her serene face serenades and captivates me.She is the angel who taught me the first aplhabets,………….how can all of compel me to forget her?

Nobody wants me to know about her.What is it Ammamma,that I should not know about her?

“Ammu……..Gauri was married off into a good family…….however husband was a widower and he had two issues.”Ammamma whispered.

When she came to know…………she had already been married off.She  never saw her husband before marriage,only their photographs were exchanged.Gauri’s Amma knew about it and hushed it all up.She was aging and was under the pressure of her brothers.

“And Ammamma,you and my Amma………..both of you connived with them?”

to be continued……………….

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2014]

 

Leave a Reply

